top of page
Search

An Interview with a Priest

I asked Father some questions about his life and vocation, and this is the answer that he gave me. Thank you so much, Father!


"My Road to the Priesthood - At the beginning of my freshman year at Mt. St. Mary’s College in Emmitsburg, Md., in 1960, I realized I had to choose my vocation. Like many other young Catholic men growing up in the 1950’s, I was considering a religious vocation. After a period of soul-searching and consultation with advisors, I decided to pursue studies for the priesthood. The first hurdle was how to tell my family. I chose to write a letter rather than to tell them face to face. My parents have always been behind me with their support and encouragement.

I wondered, though, whether I was worthy to become a servant of God. Many of the great saints seemed to have struggled with the same question. St. Peter said to Jesus, “Depart from me Lord for I am a sinful man.” St Paul willingly acknowledged that he had been a persecutor of the early church. In his famous classic Confessions, St. Augustine wrote of the struggles he underwent before he committed himself to Christianity and the religious life. Even St. Theresa, the Little Flower, in her Story of a Soul, indicated her feeling of unworthiness, saying, “So in spite of my littleness, I can hope to be a saint.”

Another hurdle for me was the studies. I was never a great student, mediocre at best. To undertake eight years of studying philosophy, church history, scripture, theology, and Latin, Greek, and Hebrew was a daunting prospect. But my mind was made up. I would accept God's invitation and give myself to the call completely. If I failed along the way, it would be an indication that the priesthood was not my calling.

Before the end of fall in 1960, I wrote a letter with the help of my cousin, also a priest, and the pastor of my church, seeking acceptance into the seminary. The Diocese advised me to finish my first two years of college and then set up an appointment before the third year of school. In June of 1962 the Bishop of the Diocese called me to his office for an interview. He accepted my application and I was to report to the Seminary in September of 1962. I was able to settle into the routine of the seminary life of prayer and study and on May 25, 1968, was ordained a priest for the Diocese.

Too often people use the term vocation to mean religious life. In Latin the word vocation means to be called. We are all called to be a Catholic first, a member of the Mystical Body of Christ. Jesus said, “You did not choose Me, but I chose you. And I appointed you to go and bear fruit--fruit that will last.” John 15:16. Go out and live the life of faithful service: married or single; doctor, lawyer, teacher, carpenter, plumber, or maybe a priest, brother or sister, but live your life as a true Catholic follower of Jesus.

Remember the story of the rich young man who asked Jesus, “What must I do Teacher, what good must I do to gain eternal life?” Jesus answered him, “If you wish to enter into life, keep the commandments.” (Mt.19/16) In addition; prayer, knowledge of the bible, sacrifice and good works, and receive the Sacraments regularly, especially Reconciliation and Mass and Holy Communion."


Catholic Teen Life Readers, let's pray for all Priests who so bravely bring Jesus to us in the sacraments and for all those men who are discerning a call to the Priesthood!

52 views

Recent Posts

See All

HEALED.

Balance

bottom of page