top of page
Search

Recipe for Joy

Are you joyful? I have a feeling that if you asked this question to the entire world, the majority answer would be "no!" This is so unfortunate because the recipe for joy is so simple!


God gave us the ultimate recipe for joy. He says in John chapter 15, "Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love." He then says: “I have told you this so that my joy might be in you and your joy might be complete."


The 10 commandments are instructions- instructions in the recipe for joy! For peace! For love! Happiness is fleeting. It's a reaction to things that happen. Joy is a state of being.

The ten basic rules for living (which Jesus summarized with the words, "You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind" and "You shall love your neighbor as yourself. " are not a list of rules and limitations meant to take all the fun out of life. They are instructions for using the ingredients of joy (faith, hope, love, prudence, justice, and fortitude)


These instructions to the recipe for joy were given to us by the creator of the human heart- the one who knows us most deeply and intimately knows best what will bring us joy!!


Let's take this even deeper- "elevate" the recipe if you will:

We know only God will make us truly joyful. God is love, and along with love comes joy. (Not always happiness, but joy). Therefore, living out the commandments naturally will lead us towards union with God. God gave us the Commandments so that "Our joy will be complete" God is our joy. Living out the Commandments to the fullest will lead us to that joy- to God! And if we keep His commandments, we will remain in His love and nothing- except the times when we gravely stray from "following the recipe"- can ever separate us from joy. From love. From God.


If you follow the recipe- stick to it as closely as possible- you will find joy, and your joy will be complete!



Reflection based on:


Jesus said to his disciples: “As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. “I have told you this so that my joy might be in you and your joy might be complete. This is my commandment: love one another as I love you." ~John 15:9-13

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

HEALED.

Balance

bottom of page