top of page
Search

Valentine Q&A

Hi friends! Happy Valentine's Day! A few of you submitted questions for today's Q&A post. My boyfriend, Brendan, and I wanted to answer your questions regarding Vocations, discernment, and friendship! We hope that these answers are helpful to you. Please let us know if you have any questions!

~ Colleen and Brendan


"I'm thinking about going to Peru for a mission trip, but I'd need to have a lot of money and my parent's permission. It's more than likely that I'll be able to get neither of those. What should I do?"


Colleen - At the most basic level, if all indicators and logical reasoning point to no, then no. You can serve in your own community! And if you're meant to go to Peru, then God will certainly make a way. However, it's also good to recognize that a mission trip need not be anything extreme... go to a soup kitchen in your community. Volunteer at a local Vacation Bible School. Go on a mini-pilgrimage to your parish and pick up trash along the way... There are so many things you can do at home (some without even being able to drive!) to serve God's people.


Brendan -Same as Colleen, if all signs point to no, then try doing a local mission trip rather than out of the country. If you're looking for money for the trips, then fundraise! It's the most simple and easy way to raise enough money for any trip. We fundraised to go to conferences and retreats throughout high school, and it was quite effective, especially when our youth group fundraised at our parish and got donations. People are typically quite happy to help.


"How do I discern my Vocation while I'm still a high school or college student?"


C- Pray!! Pray, hope, and don't worry. You won't miss your call simply because you're in school. God knows your heart and knows your life, and He won't let you miss it. Also, recognize that for this stage of life, the best form of discernment might just be to give it to God and be the best student you can be because, ultimately, right now, that's where God is calling you to do His will and love those around you.

Here are some resources from the blog!:

B - Make sure that you're focusing on your classes and not letting your discernment get in the way/ distract you/overwhelm you/ make you anxious. However, it's important to keep your heart open for God to speak. Be open to what He's doing in your life and heart, and see where you are the most settled. Notice how you love. Get to know yourself. God will lead you, especially through prayer.


"I'm a homeschooled student wanting to branch out... how can I make some more friends and get involved in my community?"


C -Be yourself! Get involved in your community/parish. You might be allowed to participate in public school extracurriculars and sports depending on what state you live in.

Also, Homeschool Connections (not sponsored!) is a beautiful Catholic homeschool community that I used while in high school and will never stop recommending. 😊

And never forget... your family will be some of the greatest friends you'll ever have. ❤️️


B -From the perspective of someone who was not homeschooled... Talk to family members who have friends in school that are in your grade. See if they have ways for you to get involved or even just meet new people that they are already friends with! If you can, try to join the public school activities or find homeschoolers nearby and talk to them!


How to discern if I'm supposed to be in a relationship with someone or enter the priesthood?


C - Brendan says this one perfectly!


B -Get a spiritual director.

Coming from a guy's perspective... it was a hard decision and process. You've just got to keep your mind open and your heart, most importantly. It's also so good to pray for your Vocation. There are so many prayers online for this topic. Pray on what you want and what God wants for you. He calls in many ways, but it's up to you to listen. If you're open, He won't let you miss it.

From a personal experience, I was always stuck on what I wanted rather than what God wanted, I've thought about priesthood many times, but I couldn't see myself being a priest. I just wasn't sure, though. But in 2021, my perspective changed. I went to a Steubenville Conference. I'd been intentionally praying about my Vocation for a couple of years. That year though, God allowed everything to fall into place at His time. That year was also spent texting my best friend... But praying about my Vocation at Steubenville and just expressing myself in prayer and conversation with others helped me realize God wasn't calling me to the priesthood, but to married life someday. And that girl, my best friend, she's now my girlfriend! I'm always giving thanks to God for leading me to my Vocation and taking us both on this journey of discernment together. We're still discerning God's will for us a year and a half into dating! He has a plan. For me, for us and for you.

So to answer your question, take moments of silence throughout your day, spend time in adoration before the Blessed Sacrament, or just sit in prayer. Remember that God doesn't always just answer with words. It's often a stirring of the heart, which means that rather than listening with our ears, we often have to listen with our hearts. If you have any questions, comment on this blog post, and Colleen will put you in touch with me!



38 views

Recent Posts

See All

HEALED.

Balance

bottom of page